On A Wing And A Prayer

I’m scant hours away from landing in Moncton, New Brunswick to attend the FrancoFête en Acadie Conference and looking out my window, it’s clear that winter is at our doorstep. The sky is a watercolour wash blue-gray, showcasing the starkness of naked trees standing against it.

Most people hate this sort of scene but I happen to like the calmness it brings to an otherwise busy summer day. I like the crispness of Autumn. I like the pastiche of yellows and reds, browns and autumn greens as leaves fall from the trees and lay about on grey pavement and reddish-green hiking trails. And I’m looking forward to seeing Autumn reveal herself in Moncton.

Now don’t get me wrong. It’s not the cold weather that attracts me to this time of year. Au contraire, my friends. If anything, I much prefer warmer climes. But there’s something to be said about Autumn colours … colours that just aren’t the same at any other time of year.

I think back to one particular scene in the original Shrek movie where Donkey says, “Blue flower, red thorns! Blue flower, red thorns! Blue flower, red thorns! Oh, this would be so much easier if I wasn’t colour-blind!” Far too many people choose to be colour-blind in this world. They overlook the importance of colour … colour in the literal sense, colour as in the colour of life or any other sort of colour.

And this brings me to my point. In order to see the beauty that exists in this world, it’s important to take time to look for the nuances, hues and tints of colour. It’s only when you don’t take the time to see such beauty that you rob yourself of the richness of life and all it holds for you.

There’s a saying that says, “In order to have friendship you must look past the color to the soul, because within the soul lies a rainbow of many colors.”

How sad it is for those who are in so much of a rush that they miss the rainbow within others. So today, take a moment to look out your window to see the beauty of what might otherwise be called a dreary day and see it through new eyes with an open heart. What you see may, indeed, astound you.

Leave a Reply

