A Tale of Two Snowflakes

I’m looking out my window and it’s snowing … great big, fluffy, light snowflakes. And everything looks clean and new and beautiful.

You’ve undoubtedly heard time and again that no two snowflakes are the same. As simple as snowflakes are, they are also complex at the same time and so that statement is true when talking about the snowflake in its completed form.

But the truth of the matter is that some snowflakes are alike in the very beginning.   You see, at the start, snowflakes are water molecules waiting to blossom.  Every water molecule is comprised of two hydrogen atoms bonded to an oxygen atom.  When these atoms bond together, they do so in a six-sided prism.  From there, ice begins to form on the sides of the crystal and pretty soon, you have a crystal that eventually becomes a snowflake.

The wonder, however, comes in the fact that as it grows into a snowflake, that’s where the similarities end and the individuality of the snowflake takes form.

And so it is with love. 

No matter how similar romantics may be, each expression of love is very unique and different.  You can classify them into groups as one does with snowflakes however the fact remains that within those classifications, each expression clings steadfastly to its uniqueness.

One of the most romantic words ever spoken in a film is in Runaway Bride when Richard Gere‘s character says to Julia Roberts‘  character, “Look, I guarantee there’ll be tough times. I guarantee that at some point, one or both of us is gonna want to get out of this thing. But I also guarantee that if I don’t ask you to be mine, I’ll regret it for the rest of my life, because I know, in my heart, you’re the only one for me.”

It’s a perfect proposal and it’s perfect for so many reasons.  First off, it acknowledges that love doesn’t wipe out all the problems of the world.  Second of all, it acknowledges that living with regrets is the worst burden to carry for the rest of one’s life.  And third of all, it acknowledges that the love between them is unique between the two of them.

Yes, there are others who have been in love and who are in love and who will be in love, but in that moment, Richard Gere’s character admits that the love he feels for Julia Roberts’ character is the most perfect love for him.

In my cocoon of an office, it’s toasty warm inside.   A cup of cocoa sits on my desk as I type this blog entry while listening to James Taylor and Natalie Cole singing “Baby, It’s Cold Outside.”  And as I continue to glance out my office window from time to time to watch the snow accumulating on the trees and on the ground and on housetops outside, I smile because I know that all is well in the world as long as love exists.

Leave a Reply

