Business As Usual

Yesterday, I decided to try something a little different with regards to my schedule. I have an agenda book that my son refers to as my “Bible” because it’s a 9 inch by 12 inch hard-cover book with a golden ribbon to divide the book in half between days that have passed and days yet to come, and it has everything that needs to be kept track of on the pages of that one book.

The problem is, however, that it doesn’t give me much of an overview of the month and while it’s an accurate representation of where my time has been, is and will be allotted during any given day, it really only provides a one-day-at-a-time snapshot of my life. I decided that I would create a overview for the month of July … a large 11 inch by 17 inch page that I could fix to the wall just to the right of my office desk.

I decided that this 31-day overview would only have the large projects and appointments marked off and so I set about marking when the Elyse Bruce, Midnight In Chicago and Idiomation blog articles would be posted. I marked off when the Midnight In Chicago podcasts would be posted and, starting in July, when the Elyse Bruce and Idiomation podcasts would be posted. I marked off when important documents were to be received in my office and who was to send them to me, and I marked off all the important information pertaining to my soon-to-be-released CD “Dreamtime.” In other words, I thought I was marking off just a few things.

Imagine my surprise when I looked at the 31-day overview and realized that it was already quite busy!

Now in between all that I had written, I had to mark off Lewis’ appointments and I had to mark off deadlines I have to meet in July. Now the 31-day overview was looking very, very busy. I took a red marker and circled Monday, July 18th because that’s Lewis’ 16th birthday. It wouldn’t be right to not set that day aside just for him and so that day was marked “taken” to ensure that no one would try to book anything important — other than Lewis — on that day.

In smaller lettering, I marked off the projects that Lewis has scheduled for July, some of which require my assistance and I marked off days when I would be doing targeted marketing for my business. Now the 31-day overview looked like a detailed map of some small European country with all sorts of decipherable lines and squiggles and words marked all over the page.

It was at that point that I realized I was going to have to break out the fluorescent highlighters if I was to make sense of this overview in the upcoming 4 weeks. And so yellow and pink and green and blue and purple were added to this formerly black-and-white page. I sat back and looked at my work of art; what else could I possibly call this creation?

Picking up my agenda book, I leafed through it casually at the months that had already passed and I realized that July wasn’t any busier than any other month had been. This was business as usual. And so I smiled a tired smile, closed my agenda book and set it back down on my desk, leaned back in my chair and thought to myself, “If I ever ask myself again where Lewis gets his hyperfocusing superpowers from, I’ll have to remember to create another 31-day overview with projects and activities that need doing and appointments and meetings that need keeping.”

Leave a Reply

