Starting The Year With Gratitude

Today, being New Year’s Day, I put some time aside to review the blog stats for the Elyse Bruce blog.  I write because I am compelled to write — about the arts, about marketing and about social issues, not the least of which is the Idle No More movement.  What I learned in reviewing the blog stats for 2013 was humbling, and it’s with gratitude that I begin 2014 with this blog post.

The Top 5 articles on this blog had to do with social issues:  four from the Idle No More series, and one that dealt with cyberbullying and the potential for cyberbullying.

Top 5 Articles_IMAGE

In fact, the busiest day on this blog culminated in 4,619 unique views … most of which were for the second most popular article on my blog, “Idle No More: About Those Indians.”

Busiest Day_IMAGE

And not only did people read the articles I researched and published, they shared them with the two most shared articles being “Idle No More: About That FN Trust” …

About That FN Trust_FB and Twitter Shares_IMAGE

… and “Idle No More: About Those Indians.”

About Those Indians_FB and Twitter Shares_IMAGE

So not only were my articles well read, they were generously shared on Facebook and on Twitter as well as via email and other social media.  In fact, a great number of the articles I researched and wrote were republished by mainstream and online media as well as quoted by mainstream and online media.

The Top 5 referring sites were also a surprise.

Top 5 Referring Sites_IMAGE

It was no surprise that Facebook and Twitter took the top 2 spots, but mail came in as a close third.  People shared what I wrote with their friends, their family, their colleagues, their co-workers, and with strangers because what I wrote made an impact on their lives.

Most humbling was learning that my writing influenced people in 134 countries around the world.

Where did they come from_IMAGE

That’s pretty amazing in light of the fact that the U.S. Department of State claims that there are 195 countries in the world.   Speaking percentages, that means in 2013, the articles on this blog reached nearly 70% of the world’s countries!

I want to thank each and every person who visited this blog in 2013 for making time to read what I wrote.  While I am compelled to research and write, if you did not find value in what I researched and wrote, you would not have shared these articles with others and you would not have returned to continue reading what I researched and wrote.

This is why I am starting 2014 off with gratitude … because all of you have given me so much to be thankful for already.  I look forward to your visits to this blog in 2014, and encourage you to visit my other blogs:  the Idiomation blog, and the Missy Barrett blog, as well as the Midnight In Chicago website.  Feel free to follow me on Twitter (@ElyseBruce or @glassonastick) and to join  the Elyse Bruce Fan Page on Facebook.

Thank you for giving me the gift of your readership in 2013, and I look forward to continuing this tradition throughout 2014 and beyond.

Elyse Bruce

Leave a Reply

